Technology

Technology Ever buy an original PS3? Sony may owe you $65
Author: 0 Ever buy an original PS3? Sony may owe you $65

The "OtherOS" feature was removed from Sony's devices in 2010. The claims were such that Sony suggested that owners could install Linux - which, technically speaking, they could. The slim PS3 is not eligible. You have until April 15th to submit a claim if you're eligible. You're looking for the glossy one on the left. Will I actually see cash? The company claims to have sold about 10 million original PlayStation 3s, but only a fraction of them would go through the required steps in order to ...

Technology Sensor Tower: Fortnite players spend $1.5 million on iOS version
Author: 0 Sensor Tower: Fortnite players spend $1.5 million on iOS version

It's iOS only at the moment, meaning iPhones and iPads, but an Android feature is promised in the future. With the event still ongoing, I sat down with an Epic Games representative to discuss the game's new home and its appeal. Many Fortnite players are starting to receive invites for the new iOS version of Fortnite but so far the mobile game isn't available to Android users.

Technology Google Play Instant games let you play first, download later
Author: 0 Google Play Instant games let you play first, download later

Google talked up the technology on Monday at the Game Developers Conference , saying it could help developers entice more consumers to try out their hit titles. "We're proud to be one of the first gaming companies innovating on Google Play Instant , delivering bite-sized play experiences for fans of Zynga's Words With Friends 2 and Solitaire everywhere", said Bernard Kim, President of Publishing, Zynga.

Author: 0 Wilke Sells 250 Shares of Amazon.com, Inc. (AMZN) Stock

Southeastern Asset Management Inc who had been investing in Wynn Resorts Limited for a number of months, seems to be less bullish one the $19.03B market cap company. Amer Century accumulated 1.57M shares or 1.52% of the stock. Finally, TIAA CREF Investment Management LLC boosted its holdings in shares of Amazon.com by 1.7% during the 2nd quarter.

Technology OPPO R15 & R15 Dream Mirror Edition Are Now Official
Author: 0 OPPO R15 & R15 Dream Mirror Edition Are Now Official

Meanwhile, the Oppo R15 Dream Mirror Edition comes with the same notch on the OLED screen, Qualcomm Snapdragon 660 octa-core Kryo processor, Adreno 512 GPU, 6GB RAM, 128GB onboard storage, 3400mAh battery with V00C. Oppo has finally introduced R15 and R15 Dream Edition smartphones in China. The OPPO R15 is a pretty compelling device from its design to its specs, and it spells well for what to expect from the upcoming OnePlus 6 .

Technology Rumor: Assassin's Creed Going to Greece
Author: 0 Rumor: Assassin's Creed Going to Greece

Ubisoft did previously hint that Assassin's Creed might no longer be an annual release, but past year the company seemed to suggest that there will be new a Assassin's Creed game for 2018. As with any rumor, I would advise readers taking it with a pinch of salt; even one as well corroborated as this one. What's next for Ubisoft and Assassin's Creed franchise? But for now, Ubisoft has plans for Assassin's Creed Origins throughout 2018.

Technology Android P feature: Very old apps won't open on your phone
Author: 0 Android P feature: Very old apps won't open on your phone

Google's work to shore up Android security included collaborating with several device manufacturers to ensure they had up-to-date versions of Android running on their devices. It still isn't clear whether phones will stop supporting these apps altogether, or if they'll just show a warning letting users know the said app may function non-ideally.

Technology HTC Vive Pro headset now available for pre-order at $799
Author: 0 HTC Vive Pro headset now available for pre-order at $799

That rather "enthusiast-level" price gets you a free six-month trial to HTC's Viveport Subscription, a game subscription service that offers five games or videos per month from more than 400 pieces of content available. HTC announced this morning that its next-generation Vive Pro virtual reality headset will begin shipping on April 5th for a price of $799, with pre-orders opening today .

Technology Twitter to Ban Many Cryptocurrency Ads
Author: 0 Twitter to Ban Many Cryptocurrency Ads

Sky News claimed that Twitter is set to implement a new advertising policy in the next two weeks that will prohibit advertisements for initial coin offerings, token sales and cryptocurrency wallets globally. Facebook said in a blog post in late January that it would block "ads that promote financial products and services that are frequently associated with misleading or deceptive promotional practices, such as binary options, initial coin offerings and cryptocurrency".

Technology Tinder's parent company sues Bumble over patents
Author: 0 Tinder's parent company sues Bumble over patents

Some complicated early history: Bumble founder Whitney Wolfe Herd was also a co-founder at Tinder before she filed her own lawsuit against Tinder for alleged sexual harassment in 2014. CNN reports both Gulczynski and Mick have since left Bumble, and did not respond when the network reached out for comment on the lawsuit. In addition, they took the idea for a feature that allows users to go back if they accidentally skipped someone while going through potential matches.

Technology UMBC compared its victory over Virginia to winning in Fortnite Battle Royale
Author: 0 UMBC compared its victory over Virginia to winning in Fortnite Battle Royale

Those invites are hardly exclusive though; even though the game has begun its launch process, interested parties can still submit their name and email address for eventual invite consideration on Epic's website . unless you jailbreak. Drake now has more than 36 million followers on the social network. For now though, if you own an iPhone 5S or iPhone 6, you will not be able to play Fortnite Mobile on it.

Technology Amazon dealing with Alexa's chattiness via a new 'Brief Mode'
Author: 0 Amazon dealing with Alexa's chattiness via a new 'Brief Mode'

If you have version 2.2.202313.0 on iOS (which rolled out yesterday) if you navigate to settings general Alexa Voice Responses you'll see the option to turn Brief Mode on. If Amazon rolls the feature out to everyone, it seems as though they plan for it to be the new default behavior for Alexa, since it's automatically being turned on.

Technology Nintendo Confirms A New Nindies Showcase Coming Next Week
Author: 0 Nintendo Confirms A New Nindies Showcase Coming Next Week

Now, Nintendo is prepping us for this year's Nindies Showcase Spring 2018 , which is set to drop on Tuesday, March 20. You'll be able to watch a live video miniature Nintendo Direct that starts at 9 a.m. So what do you want to see at the next Nintendo Direct? Notable indie games coming to the Switch include Kentucky Route Zero , Runner 3 and Wargroove .