Google is today rolling out one of Gmail's modern features to mobile devices. One of the new features is Confidential Mode which allows for the sending of auto-expiring messages - although, as we have previously noted, it's not ideal by any means.
Google has officially rolled out confidential mode for Gmail in the Android and iOS apps.
"You can send messages and attachments with Gmail's confidential mode to help protect sensitive information from unauthorized access", Google explains on its support page for the new feature.
‘Queen of Soul’ Aretha Franklin dies at the age of 76
She helped us feel more connected to each other, more hopeful, more human. "The radio station played all of her hits". Fellow singer Diana Ross tweeted: "I'm sitting in prayer for the wonderful golden spirit Aretha Franklin ".
If you want to use confidential mode, you simply need to hit the "Compose" button to start your email. Another functionality of the confidential mode is the ability to restrict the recipient from copying, forwarding or downloading the email for further use. At any point, you can once again renew access if you want. Once the email is sent, the self-destruct timer can not be changed.
Keep in mind that once the email is in Confidential Mode, any attachments, documents, or pictures will also be locked. Google also notes users who may be infected with malicious programs that are intercepting or collecting emails may get access to these messages as well. However, one feature which was talked about a lot was the Confidential Mode. With a passcode enabled, recipients of the confidential mode email will have to enter a code that they will receive in an SMS message on their phones.
Even with all this, Gmail still allows users to take screenshots of confidential emails. Recipients can confirm their identities with a passcode via text message.