Congress levels office of profit charge against BJP Rajya Sabha nominee Vats


"From which party has Narayan Rane filed his nomination for Rajya Sabha?"

Union Railways Minister Piyush Goyal claimed that there were irregularities in the nomination form of Congress leader PK Valera too.

The Returning Officer also accepted the nomination of second official Congress candidate Ami Yagnik.

The BJP's complaint ahead of the biennial polls to the Upper House on March 23 marks yet another instance of its all out attack on the opposition party over a Rajya Sabha election as it had earlier targeted its senior leader Ahmed Patel during polls previous year.

Earlier in the day, Suresh Angadi, whip of BJP Parliamentary Party in Gujarat, in a letter to Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, alleged that clearances from seven different departments were given to Rathwa in under 50 minutes that enabled him to file his nomination.

Ketkar may well now be haunted by visions of the defection drama that preceded last year's Gujarat Rajya Sabha elections, where Sonia Gandhi's political secretary Ahmed Patel just scraped through.

Harry Kane 'ruled out until May'
Tottenham are back in Premier League action following the global break with a trip to top-four rivals Chelsea on April 1. A Tottenham source revealed the injury is as serious as the one that kept him out for seven weeks from September 2016.

"Chief minister Devendra Fadnavis has started calling the disgruntled among our legislators", a Congress politician said from Mumbai. The choice of Rathwa shows the indecisiveness of Congress central leadership. "There was no question of fielding another candidate in my place", he said.

The BJP objected to the validity of a no-dues certificate submitted by Rathwa and fielded senior leaders, including deputy chief minister Nitin Patel, state unit chief Jitu Vaghani and minister of state for home Pradeepsinh Jadeja, to ensure rejection of Rathwa's nomination.

In the 182-member House, the ruling BJP has 99 MLAs while the opposition Congress 77. In actuality, the person who had come on behalf of the BJP President, was asked to bring the proforma of nomination form, on the contrary, he purchased a nomination form, leading to all misunderstandings.

Other BJP candidates who field their nomination papers on Monday include Ashok Bajpayi, Anil Jain, Kanta Kardam, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Harnath Singh Yadav, Sakaldeep Rajbhar and G. Both the parties are in a position to send two candidates each to the Rajya Sabha, as the minimum number of votes required per candidate is 38. They did it in last RS election in Gujarat, yet could not win. "Our MLAs are with us but BJP will have to take care of its MLAs as many are dissatisfied at not being given a portfolio".

As the Assembly session was going on, the focus of attention remained the Returning Officer's chamber as scrutiny of nomination forms began on Tuesday.