Now you have longer to delete your WhatsApp messages

Share

WhatsApp has extended the time frame in which you can delete your sent message to one hour.

However, it must be noted that the extended deadline is live for WhatsApp Android beta version 2.18.69.

Just as with any popular platform, WhatsApp has fans who are quite happy to use it while conceding that there are things that need to be improved. Back in October past year the UK's most popular messaging client, WhatsApp, introduced "delete for everyone" to facilitate such actions based on your second thoughts.

WhatsApp recently introduced a Delete for All feature which allowed users to delete messages already sent to other WhatsApp users.

Trump backs off push for raising assault rifle purchase age
White House deputy press secretary Raj Shah speaks during the daily press briefing at the White House on February 22, 2018. Senior administration officials familiar with the effort said no proposals would be off the table.

According to WaBetaInfo (@wabetainfo), a Twitter account that tracks changes in WhatsApp's beta builds, the app will silently add the "Block revoke request" feature, which will prevent the misuse of Delete for everyone feature.

The report states that the chat app has decided on 24 hours as time frame to ensure that the recipient receives the revoke request.

Hitting the Delete symbol will remove the message and the feature works for all types of messages, but only if they were sent less than seven minutes ago. The post points out that this will make sure no-one can illegally delete messages older than 24 hours for everyone. It has also been pointed out that if someone replies to a message in a group, and the same is later deleted for everyone, the message continues to show on the group. "It is a bug fixes update, but it has the new "Delete for everyone" limit, that's 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds".

If you've sent something by mistake don't forget you can quickly delete it.

Share