Talk of army hand as Balochistan gets new CM


Balochistan Chief Minister Mir Quddus Bizenjo on Saturday promised to give healthcare, education and clean drinking water to the people during his reign, while delivering his inaugural speech in the Balochistan Assembly.

Earlier, the PML-N's dissenters in unison with Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) and other lawmakers moved the no-confidence motion against Nawab Sanaullah Zehri and managed to get the top post vacated from him. He was the former deputy speaker of the assembly and had played a key role in the ouster of Sanaullah Zehri, a former PML-N CM, who had to step down last week after opposition benches filed a motion of no-confidence against him.

A total 54 votes were polled by the lawmakers and Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party's (PkMAP) Agha Syed Liaquat Ali bagged 13 votes. This signifies that PML-N MPs also voted for the new CM.

Abdul Rahim Ziyaratwal, a PkMap candidate, withdrew his nomination from the race.

Elected to the Balochistan Assembly for the first time in 2002 from PB-41 Awaran, Bizenjo was sworn in as provincial minister for livestock and dairy development in Jam Yousuf's cabinet.

National Party had not nominated any candidate neither announced support for any.

Nancy Kerrigan doesn't plan to watch 'I, Tonya'
Days later, officials linked the incident to Harding and her live-in ex-husband. Harding told ABC News earlier this month she "knew that something was up".

Addressing a joint news conference in Quetta, Deputy Opposition Leader in the provincial assembly, Engineer Zamruk Khan Achakzai along with other coalition partners hoped that the nominated Chief Minister Abdul Quddus Bizenjo would establish peace and security in the province and address the public issues.

JUI-F's Maulana Abdul Wasay, leader of the opposition in the provincial assembly, said the opposition would not join the new provincial government.

The political crisis began with Bizenjo submitting a no-confidence motion against the chief minister on January 2. In a house of 65 members, at least 33 votes are required to elect the CM.

A political crisis developed in Balochistan following the no-confidence motion, with efforts stepped up by the PML-N, which has a government both in the centre and province, to defuse the situation.

Former chief ministers Sanaulla Zehri and Abdul Malik received 9421 votes and 4539 votes respectively during general elections. Except Zehri, all the remaining legislators also voted for Bizenjo.