CAF AWARDS: Victor Moses, William Troost-Ekong, Junior Ajayi nominated


Reigning winner Riyad Mahrez of Algeria and Leicester City, 2015 victor Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Borussia Dortmund as well as Egypt and Liverpool winger Mohamed Salah headline the roster.

Ugandan goalkeeper Onyango won this award a year ago, after Sundowns won the 2016 Caf Champions League.

In September, the 24-year-old was also named Best Player of the fourth round of Africa's 2018 World Cup qualifying after hitting a hat-trick against Congo.

The former Crystal Palace and Wigan man also played a pivotal role in the Super Eagles' qualification for the 2018 Fifa World Cup in Russian Federation with a game to spare.

Portuguese outfit Porto supply the most players with Algerian Yacine Brahimi, Malian Moussa Marega and Cameroonian Vincent Aboubakar listed.

Percy Tau and Denis Onyango have been nominated for two prestigious CAF awards for 2017.

The other award up for grabs is the best Africa-Based Player of the Year.

Amsterdam bans beer bikes amid complaints about drunk tourists
The judges in Tuesday's ruling agreed that the beer bikes were becoming a big enough problem for the city to ban them. One concerned resident told NOS news at the time that "our city's become a giant attraction park".

New Zealander Brockie and Bafana Bafana star Furman have been key members of the SuperSport side that have made it all the way to this year's Caf Confederation Cup final.

The former KAA Gent man has scored twice for Bursaspor in 10 league appearances this season and has won 26 duels and 44 percent of his tackles. He is listed as number 16.

He also has one goal in four Champions League appearances as well as one goal in the Spanish Cup.

Nigerian energy giants, AITEO, are the headline sponsors of next year's edition that will see players, officials and administrators who distinguished themselves during the year under review being honoured.

The victor will be decided by votes from the head coaches‚ technical directors of the national associations affiliated to Caf‚ members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee and a panel of media experts.

The respective winners will be announced in the Ghanaian capital Accra on 4 January 2018.