Ballon d'Or 2017: Roma, Man Utd and Spurs stars among nominees


Tottenham striker Harry Kane is the only Englishman named on a 30-man shortlist to win the 2017 Ballon d'Or.

The prize is once more the domain of France Football after merging with the FIFA World Player of the Year award between 2010-15 and the victor will be decided by a selection panel of journalists.

The Ballon d'Or is an award presented by weekly magazine France Football and is voted for by European journalists.

The Tottenham Hotspur striker was joined in the list by Liverpool's Philippe Coutinho and Sadio Mane, Manchester United's David de Gea, Chelsea's N'Golo Kante and Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne. Gareth Bale misses out, while Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are selected.

NVIDIA Unveils Drive PX Pegasus: Made To Power Fully Autonomous Vehicles
Koetzle added that the earliest estimate she's seen for level 5 autonomous vehicles operating on the roads is 2025 in the UK. Forrester analyst Laura Koetzle agreed that it will take time for these systems to actually get into production cars.

Kane has enjoyed a superb year, scoring 43 times in 37 appearances for club and country, to help Spurs qualify for the Champions League and England next year's World Cup.

There is talent throughout the starting XI with Manuel Neuer, Jerome Boateng and Arturo Vidal included from Bayern Munich, while Marcelo, Sergio Ramos and Luka Modric form a strong Real Madrid contingent.

Real Madrid forward Ronaldo, 32, beat Barcelona's Messi to win the award for a fourth time a year ago. The group of 30 players will be released in five different times through the day.

Cristiano Ronaldo is regarded as the most likely victor of the Ballon d'Or having his Real Madrid side won both La Liga and the Champions League last season.